Click a question below to view the answer. If you need further information on these or any other topics related to sexual offender/predator registration in Florida, contact FDLE Missing Persons & Offender Registration toll free at 1-888-357-7332 or your local sheriff's office.
He or she has been convicted of a qualifying sexual offense in Florida or another jurisdiction. Qualifying Adult Convictions include:
He or she has been released from or is currently serving parole, probation, or incarceration for a qualifying sex offense (listed above) on or after October 1, 1997;-OR
He or she establishes or maintains a residence (permanent, temporary, or transient) in Florida and has a requirement to register or would have a requirement to register as a sexual offender in another jurisdiction;-OR
He or she was adjudicated delinquent on or after July 1, 2007, for one of the following offenses and was 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense:
Registrants are required to report to their local sheriff's office (for a list of locations click here) and provide information including but not limited to:
Note: This information is a public record unless exempt or confidential pursuant to Chapter 119, F.S.
Sexual offenders must complete a registration form at their county sheriff's office either twice a year (birth month and every 6th month thereafter) or four times a year (birth month and every 3rd month thereafter) depending upon their offense. For a list of qualifying offenses for quarterly registration (four times a year) please refer to Florida Statute 943.0435(14)(b).
All sexual predators, some sexual offenders, and all juvenile sexual offenders must report four times a year (birth month and every 3rd month thereafter).
Sexual offenders/predators MUST maintain registration for the duration of their life.
All qualifying sexual offenders, sexual predators, and juvenile sexual offenders will be listed on the public registry website.
The public registry website is updated on a "real-time," continuous basis as new information is received from FDLE's criminal justice partner agencies. Top
A juvenile sexual offender is required to register in Florida if he or she:
Yes, if an offender or predator is visiting Florida from another state, he or she must report in person to the sheriff's office within 48 hours of establishing a temporary residence in Florida. He or she is required to report within 48 hours from the time of his or her registration with the sheriff's office to report in person to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) with a copy of the completed sexual offender/predator registration form to obtain a valid Florida identification card or driver's license. Failure to comply with these registration requirements as provided by Florida Statute is a felony of the 3rd degree.
Yes, federal and state laws require sexual offenders/predators to register in all jurisdictions in which they live, work, or go to school. Sexual offenders/predators who are required to register with a temporary address in Florida are subject to all Florida registration laws while the offender/predator is residing within the state, including being listed on the Florida Sexual Offender/Predator Public Registry website.
NOTE: A Sexual offender/predator's information is not removed from the registry's public website when the sexual offender/predator leaves the state of Florida.
NOTE: Removal from another state's registration requirement does not guarantee removal from the requirement to register in Florida. Top
A sexual offender/predator planning to travel to other states within the U.S. must report in person to the sheriff of the county where he or she currently resides in Florida within 48 hours before the date he or she intends to leave Florida; OR
Must provide to the sheriff the address, municipality, county, state, and country of the intended residence, and for international travel, a sexual offender/predator must also provide travel information, including expected departure and return dates, flight number, airport of departure, cruise port of departure, or any other means of intended travel.
Florida Statute 943.04354, "Removal of the requirement to register as a sexual offender or sexual predator under certain circumstances" is commonly referred to as the "Romeo & Juliet" law. This law allows certain offenders who specifically meet the criteria of the statute to petition the court for relief from the requirement to register as a sexual offender/predator. Several criteria are specified including: the victim in the case was at least 13 and not more than 17 years of age, is no more than four years younger than the offender, and the sexual activity was consensual. The qualifying offense must be the only sex crime on the offender's record requiring registration. Please see the complete statutory text (F.S. 943.04354) for further details. Top
FDLE is authorized to post registered sexual offenders/predators via the public website. The FDLE website lists sexual offender/predator flyers which include a photo, designation, status, a physical description of the offender/predator, crime information, and a registered address.
Searches may be conducted by area (city, county, and/or zip code), name, university/campus, or E-mail/Internet Identifier. To conduct a search, click on the red Offender Search button at the top of the site.
Citizens may also sign up for email notification using the Florida Offender Alert System. The emails are sent when a sexual offender/predator moves within a certain distance from a specified location set by the citizen or when a particular sexual offender/predator moves anywhere throughout the state of Florida. Click on the yellow Offender Alert System button at the top of the site to sign up.
A Florida criminal history for an individual may be obtained through the FDLE website (www.fdle.state.fl.us) for a fee. Click on the Request a Criminal History button approximately halfway down the page.
To obtain details regarding a specific crime that occurred in Florida, contact the Office of the Clerk of Courts in the county in which the subject was convicted. The county of conviction is listed on the offender/predator registry flyer. Clicking on the county link provided will open a new window with all Florida Clerk of Court websites.
To obtain details regarding an arrest in Florida, contact the local arresting law enforcement agency. Top
If you have reason to believe that a sexual crime has occurred or you have been a victim of sexual abuse, please immediately contact the local sheriff's office or police department where the crime occurred (http://offender.fdle.state.fl.us/offender/Links.jsp).
If you believe there is any illegal material presented on a website such as child pornography or child solicitation, please contact your local sheriff's office or police department, as well as the Florida Computer Crime Center at http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/cms/FCCC/FC3-Home.aspx.
If you have information that a registered sex offender is not living at his or her registered address, please contact the local law enforcement agency as soon as possible. Top
Florida's sexual offender/predator registration laws do not prohibit offenders/predators from living in certain areas or from sharing a residence with another sexual offender/predator. However, there may be municipal and/or county ordinances that outline where sexual offenders/predators can live, who they can or cannot come in contact with, or what areas in a community they can or cannot be near or visit. Contact your law enforcement agency to obtain this information. For more information pertaining to residency restrictions please see Florida Statute 775.215.
Florida's sexual offender/predator registration laws do not prohibit a sexual offender/predator from living with a child or minor based solely on the individual's requirement to register. However, if an offender/predator is currently under supervision with the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice he or she may have specific guidelines/restrictions set by a judge. This information can be obtained by contacting Department of Corrections or Department of Juvenile Justice directly. Top
There is no provision in Florida law allowing sexual predators to petition the court for removal of the sexual predator designation.
Certain individuals required to register as sexual offenders that have been lawfully released from sanctions, confinement, or supervision for at least 25 years and have not been arrested for any felony or misdemeanor offense since release may petition the court for the purpose of removing the requirement for registration as a sexual offender; provided the offense was not based on an adult conviction or violation of:
If the sexual offender meets the criteria above, the sexual offender may, for the purpose of removing the requirement for registration as a sexual offender, petition the criminal division of the circuit court of the circuit:
1. Where the conviction or adjudication occurred, for a conviction in Florida;
2. Where the sexual offender resides, for a conviction of a violation of similar law of another jurisdiction; or
3. Where the sexual offender last resided, for a sexual offender with a conviction of a violation of similar law of another jurisdiction who no longer resides in Florida.
The court may grant or deny such relief. Top
Failure of a sexual offender/predator to register as required by law is a felony.
Note: If you have reason to believe a person has violated registration requirements please contact local law enforcement. Top
There is no Florida law that prohibits an offender from having a computer, using the Internet, having an email account, or obtaining an account on a social networking site based solely on his or her designation as a sexual offender or predator. However, if an offender/predator is currently under supervision with the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice, he or she may have specific guidelines/restrictions (which may include using a computer, accessing the Internet, or setting up an account with particular websites) set forth by a judge. This information can be obtained by contacting Department of Corrections or Department of Juvenile Justice directly.
If you believe there is any illegal material presented on a website such as child pornography or child solicitation, please contact your local sheriff's office or police department, as well as the Florida Computer Crime Center at http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/cms/FCCC/FC3-Home.aspx. Top
The Cyber Communications System (CCS) is an online system that a sexual offender/predator who is not on supervision with the Florida Department of Corrections (DOC) or the Florida Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) may use to report changes in email addresses, Internet identifiers, phone numbers, employment, and status of enrollment, volunteering, or employment at institutions of higher education in Florida.
Sexual offenders/predators who are on supervision with DOC or DJJ must report any changes in the above information IN PERSON to his or her probation officer. Top
Sexual offenders/predators reported deceased remain on the website for one year after the date of death as provided on the death certificate. This allows victims, the community, and local law enforcement time to be notified. Top
FDLE currently has links to The National Sex Offender Public Website and other state sex offender registry websites at http://offender.fdle.state.fl.us/offender/Registries.jsp. Top